top of page

Listen

How many of our parents taught us that we can listen to God? That we can listen and hear God speak to us? Eli taught Samuel how to listen. Samuel told the Lord, "Here I am." 1 Samuel 3:4

Colossians 3, If I want to hear from God, it is important to meditate upon His word.

Charles Stanley gives these steps which takes Attitudes and Activity:

1. Wait Expectantly (an attitude and activity)

2. Come to Him Quietly (Be still, and know that I am God)

3. Patiently (an attitude of willingness)

4. Actively meditating upon His Word (Col 3)

5. Confidently (as I listen to Him, I will hear what I need to hear)

6. Humbly (1 Cor 22:12) we are unquestionably dependent upon the Holy Spirit for everything.

7. Openly (for conviction, correction, and comfort) if I have an agenda of what I want to hear, I will miss what God is saying

8. Attentively (learning to listen to what God may be trying to say to me through people, circumstances, and able to discern) Rom 8:28

9. Carefully (the breathed Word of God; everything we hear must be sifted through this Book/Bible; if it contradicts the Word of God- cast it out)The Word of God is active and alive and discerning, dividing all the way down to the soul and spirit, the Word of God exposes and reveals; the light of God shines uponGod wants us to affirm and confirm with the Word of God. It is essential.

10. Submissively (the submission may not be there when I begin to listen, but it needs to be fully there when I continue to hear)

11. Gratefully (come to Him in the spirit of gratitude; for the crucifixion, for my salvation, for my calling, for my forgiveness, for my adoption into the Kingdom of God) Phil 4:8

12. Reverently (not carelessly; the God that hung the sun, the moon, and stars on nothing; the

cacies of life and all things; the God who knows every name and of everything created)

A Thoughtful Moment

Real peace, the saved person has a joy deep down inside.

The condition without Christ, no peace.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page