top of page

What determines what I hear?

My understanding of what God is.

Psalms 81:8 Knowing myself as a child of God. I am coming with assurance, confidence, and boldness to the throne of God that my God listens to me and will lead and guide me. My understanding of what God is. Our first concept of God is influenced by our paternal father or early authority in our life. Either positive or negative. And then added to by other authority figures and their ideas.

Two Lists of Two Gods When you speak to God, who are you listening to? A loving father A demanding father (never measure up) When you pray, what kind of a person do you hear from? An intimate, genuine friend A casual, distant friend Is this God I am listening to a/b? An impatient, angry, harsh, strict teacher A patient, gentle, and chastising for our good (grieved in His heart- to get us back on the right path) teacher The simple truth, that Jesus Christ came to save me, deliver me from the power and penalty of sin in my life, that He is Lord and knows I need someone to rule over me and I submit to daily. Jesus Christ must be my life.

How do I approach God? Which God is mine? Does my God measure my tenth tithe or lack of and this calculates how much He blesses or listens to me? Is He a loving Father?

We are children of God. Even so, how did God receive the rebellious, indifferent, proud son. Luke 15: the prodigal son returns and Hallelujah! God is not a stingy provider. God is a faithful supporter. He is always there. Trustworthy. Reliable. You can depend upon God when everyone else fails you.

Where does sin fit in? When I willfully sin against God, I still have a loving Father, an intimate friends, a faithful supporter. Nothing changed. Some might say,"That's like getting away with sin." No, nobody gets by with sin. Sin has consequences. God is a loving Father. How does a father treat a child that misbehaves?

The church has gone to sleep and scared to death of God. So no one is hearing the truth, not living by the truth, and not sharing the truth about who God really is. Our view of God is all messed up.

Loving Father

Intimate Friend

Patient Teacher

Gentle Guide

Understanding Counselor

Faithful Supporter

Generous Provider

If my attitude is right, I will hear the truth from a loving Father that stretched His only begotten son on a Roman cross to tell me how much He loves me.

A Thoughtful Moment

Jesus did not come to patch up what I was, to improve what I was dominated by the power of an old, sinful nature. Jesus came not to improve it, but to replace it. Jesus came to exchange for me from my old life His brand new life. So that every single one of us who is a believer is indwelt with the very presence of Christ. "I will not leave you comfortless', Jesus. Through the Holy Spirit, Jesus dwells in us. There is no life apart from the Son of God, who is the source of all Life.

(podcast, 10/31/17 by Charles Stanley)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page