top of page

8 days Retreat

Have you ever been so overcome by problems that you fly in every direction to find a solution? That's what I did. I put myself on an eight days retreat smack in the middle of my current schedule.

Making a connection with my spiritual program as my #1 focus on a daily basis for eight days. I found an incredible connection with God, a quietness in my spirit, a sense of well-being, an open mind, and an attitude of willingness I have not experienced in the past 12 years.

The Great Eclipse

The eighth day landed on the day of the great northwestern eclipse, August 22, a Monday. This found my family with eclipse glasses in hand, okay, a shared couple pairs of approved UV paper things. Eating Chick-fil-A at the Boise capital park downtown, we sat in a circle on camping chairs we serendipitously found in the SUV from our fishing trip the day before.

Eery lighting occurred during the eclipse and for several minutes on either side of the event. It was surreal. There were still shadows but odd patterns cast all over the ground and sidewalks. And such a stillness. Then the sun blazed and the day continued without interruption.

The tumult that overshadowed my family surprisingly ended on the day of the Great Eclipse.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page