top of page

Cuddling Untruth

My co-worker was standing like a statue and staring out the south windows for several minutes. I thought about the humor in asking if he was facing mecca he needed to turn to the east, but I decided to blog instead.

I am still not certain why my co-worker was acting like a giant redwood in the midst of the office early this morning. As thoughts poured through my mind of possibilities for his action, after I rejected ‘facing mecca’, I did realize that I could be more like King David and stop regularly to pray to my Lord in the midst of my work. How long has it been since I asked the Holy Spirit to fill my workplace?

One of the best sources I have found for encouragement and teaching to understand the Christian walk is listening to the daily podcasts of Charles Stanley, of Intouch.org. I have been soaking up the messages since late June, blithely and joyfully. My point is, I listened enough to hear two red flags. The first red flag was Stanley’s teaching on tithing as still in effect for the body of Christ (church) even after the ascension of Christ. Knowing that false doctrine means other untruths can be cuddled, I reluctantly put on my ‘wary’ hat and following the admonition in 1 John 4:1 looked to test all spirits.

The second red flag showed up two weeks ago which threw me into a tailspin. In my opinion, Charles Stanley has an incredible grasp of understanding the Bible and being able to teach on the Holy Spirit, yet he is blinded by the pre-tribulation doctrine. He teaches that believers will not have to endure the Tribulation, the seven-year period where the antichrist is in power, but believers will be lifted up, raptured, to meet Jesus in the air. The believers will be in heaven celebrating with the Lord while all the unbelievers must face the antichrist.

Quote from Charles Stanley:

"The fact that Revelation 3:10 promises to keep us from the hour of temptation is the basis for my belief that the church will be raptured prior to the Tribulation: “Because you have kept My command to persevere, I also will keep you from the hour of trial which shall come upon the whole world, to test those who dwell on the earth.”

To Cuddle or Not to Cuddle

Is it harmful spiritually to listen to those that cuddle false doctrine?

Popular rationale: I have heard believers, who I know personally, say that no man has all the truth; and therefore, they go ahead and listen to their favorite biblical teacher but disagree with the error points.

There are so many holes in the pre-tribulation doctrine. The teaching is a false doctrine because it is not supported by scripture but by conjecture. Please study to show yourself approved is the admonition of 2 Timothy 2:15. The podcast by Justen Faull and BDK, The 4th Watch, aired 10/5/17 breaks it all down regarding the pre-tribulation and post-tribulation doctrines.Why is this important to differentiate between the two doctrines and choose truth? Because the great falling away, the apostasy 2 Thes. 2:1-3, could be a result of the false belief of pre-tribulation followers, who being deceived, get disappointed when they are faced with no rapture and must go through the tribulation, Matt. 24:21, Jer. 30:7. Thinking that they will escape, these people who cuddle false doctrine are not prepared spiritually to face such a time.

Resource Citation

The 4th Watch with Justen Faull and BDK

https://www.spreaker.com/user/fourthwatchradio/the-rapture-resurrection-extended-episod

Charles Stanley, Understanding the End Times: The Rapture (July 7, 2014)

https://www.intouch.org/read/understanding-the-end-times-the-rapture


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page